





March 30, 2012

For immediate release

Chairman of the Greater Moncton Sewerage Commission Appointed

MONCTON – The Councils of Moncton, Dieppe and Riverview have appointed Winston Pearce as the new Chairman of the Greater Moncton Sewerage Commission. The province of New Brunswick ratified his appointment which officially commenced on February 1, 2012 and will continue for a one year term.

"Mr. Pearce is well known in the Greater Moncton area, particularly for his long time involvement with the Capitol Theatre," says Moncton Mayor, George LeBlanc. "We are confident in his abilities to properly govern and continue to place the Commission at the forefront of wastewater management."

"This new appointment will ensure that the Commission is running smoothly to better serve the residents of the tri-community area," says Dieppe Mayor, Jean LeBlanc. "Mr. Pearce's invaluable experience will surely be an asset in leading the Commission forward."

"We are pleased with Mr. Pearce's appointment and confident the future of the Commission will be positive and all governance issues will be resolved," says Riverview Mayor, Clarence Sweetland.

Mr. Pearce is a retired Engineer with a Bachelor's degree in Applied Science and Engineering and also holds an Honorary Master's degree in Transportation Engineering. He has devoted over 30 years as a volunteer in Greater Moncton and currently serves as Director and House Committee Chair at the Capitol Theatre and has helped turn the building into a community and cultural treasure. He is a resident of the town of Riverview.

The respective Councils of Moncton, Dieppe and Riverview look forward to working with Mr. Pearce and all Greater Moncton Sewerage Commissioners.

Media Contact:

Kelly JonesCorporate Communications
City of Moncton
506-877-7745